release details   7" ‘This town’ single, sleeve (85%)
terr. label format pack. cat. no. rel. date
uk Rough Trade Singles Club 7" ps 45rev4 1992-01
  1. This town [featuring Eddi Reader]
      (Neill Maccoll/Calum Maccoll/Leroy Lendor/Robert Bond III)   4:34
  2. Innocent when you dream   (Tom Waits)   4:50
the groove run-out messages from the mastering unit are :
both sides (45REV-4-A1 and 45REV-4-B1): MAX
cover art : photo: Charles Dickens

Neill MacColl lead vocals, guitars, keyboards, harmonica, autoharp
Calum MacColl vocals, guitars, dulcimer, keyboards, whistles
Leroy Lendor bass
Robert Bond III drums
with :
Eddi Reader lead vocal
produced by : Liberty Horses
recorded by : Terry Medhurst at Loco, Joe’s Garage and/or The Stone Room
mixed by : Terry Medhurst at Joe’s Garage or Roundhouse
mastered by : ? at ?

The Rough Trade Singles Club, modelled on that of the Sub-Pop label in the USA, sent members an exclusive 7-inch single each month, usually of an original recording by an artist signed to the Rough Trade label. Membership was £25.00 per year (or £15.00 for six months) so the number of members and hence of copies sent out was presumably relatively small, although Rough Trade did have a high profile, especially through The Smiths’ success.

Rough Trade was founded and run by Geoff Travis, who later co-operated with Warner Brothers to set up the Blanco y Negro label to run an ‘independent’ with proper financial backing. It was Blanco y Negro of course who picked up Eddi when RCA didn’t renew her contract on the strength of the Mirmama album.

This was Liberty Horses’ first release. Eddi also appears on backing vocals on a couple of tracks on their album Joyland. Calum and, especially, Neill MacColl have since worked regularly with Eddi.

you may wish to go to the main discography page, the track index or the Honeychildren menu

Valid XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS level 2.1