release details ‘Freeborn John’ CD booklet cover (85% size)
terr. label format pack. cat. no. rel. date
uk Cooking Vinyl CD B COOK CD111 1997
uk Cooking Vinyl LP ltd ed. COOK 111 1997
cover art : John Underwood at Fab4studio
(painting: Anne Bignall)

Rev Hammer lead vocal as John Lilburne, acoustic and electric guitar, sitar, backing vocal
with guest vocalists :
Simon Friend as The Cavalier
Harry S. Fulcher as Oliver Cromwell
Mike Gregovich as Burton
Merv Harem as Prynne
Phil Johnstone as Will O’ the people and backing vocal
John Kiddey as Bastwick
The Levellers as The Leveller mutineers
Rory McLeod as Vox populi
Maddy Prior as Elizabeth Lilburne
Eddi Reader as Mary Overton
Justin Sullivan as Nehemiah Wharton
and backing vocalists :
Rachel Auty, Camilla Bostock, Jude Cox, Sonia Powell, Nicola Sears as “The Bonny Besses”
and :
Alison Baker, Tracey Baker, Amanda Burwell, Pip Harris, Frances Johnstone, Jane Jones, Annabel Levey, Jane Mason, Bonny Morgan, Cathy Rayner, Zuleika Robson, Sarah Spencer-Chapman, Sarah Stockwell, Dena Wheeler, JaneWood
with musicians :
Rachel Auty viola
Peter Blackett electric guitar, percussion
Sue Capey violin
Choir of Trinity Church, Salcombe choir
Anna Cockroft violin
Rosalind Cox cello
Antonio Elberg cello
Simon Friend electric guitar
Harry S. Fulcher saxophones, clarinets
Steve Gleed viola
Mike Gregovich bass guitar, tambourine
Robb Heaton drums
Phil Johnstone electric guitar, piano, keyboards, tambourine, bazouki, bass guitar
Rory McLeod one-man band
John Matthias violin
Martin Pannett bass guitar, lead acoustic guitar
Alex Seel e-bow, editing
Mick West bagpipe chanter
and The Levellers :
Mark Chadwick lead vocal, acoustic guitar
Jeremy Cunningham bass guitar
Charlie Heather drums
Jon Sevink violin
Simon Friend banjo
Jamie Jab backing vocal
produced by : Phil Johnstone
recorded by : Mike Gregovich and Phil Johnstone at Horsecombe; track 10 at The Metway, Brighton
mixed by : ? at ?;
mastered by : ? at ?

  1. Overture   (Rev Hammer, arr. Phil Johnstone)   0:22
  2. Pillory scene / Commons of England (June 1637)   (Rev Hammer/Phil Johnstone)   5:41
  3. The whipping song   (Rev Hammer)   3:04
  4. The battle of Brentford   (lyrics: Rev Hammer, music: ‘Nun danket alle Gott’ melody from Johannes Crüger’s Praxis pietatis melica, harmonised Felix Mendelssohn; unidentified Renaissance polyphony; arranged by Harry S. Fulcher/Phil Johnstone/Rev Hammer) 2:48
  5. Elizabeth’s great gallop   (Rev Hammer)   4:04
  6. The return to London   (Rev Hammer)   5:00
  7. England’s new chains   (Rev Hammer)   4:10
  8. Speech #1   (Rev Hammer)   0:19
  9. Bonny Besses   (Rev Hammer)   5:17
  1. Burford stomp   (Rev Hammer/Peter Blackett)   2:15
  2. Speech #2   (Rev Hammer)   0:08
  3. Exile   (Rev Hammer)   1:40
  4. The return from exile   (Rev Hammer)   1:51
  5. Seventeen years of sorrow   (Rev Hammer)   2:54
  6. Lilburne’s death song   (Rev Hammer)   4:41
  7. Valediction   (Rev Hammer)   3:35

total time : 47:51

you may wish to go to the main discography page, the track index or the Honeychildren menu

Valid XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS level 2.1